Agenda is subject to change.


7:30 am Registration Opens
7:30 – 9:00 am Coffee
9:00 am Welcome comments by Charles Pearson of Numerex, Summit Chair

Presentation of Colors by Sarasota County Sheriff’s Office

9:15 – 9:30 am Opening Remarks by FSJA Chairman Seminole Co.Sheriff Don Eslinger
9:30 – 9:35 am FSJA Chairman Sheriff Don Eslinger introduces Keynote Speaker – FDC Julie Jones 
9:35 – 10:20 am KEYNOTE SPEECH – Florida Department of Corrections Secretary Julie Jones 
10:20 – 10:35 am Break
10:35 – 11:50 am


Plenary Panel 1Smart Initiatives hosted by the Florida Department of Corrections

MODERATOR: Sen. Jeff Brandes (R-Tampa), MemberSenate Criminal Justice Committee               

Patrick Barrentine – Circuit 6 Administrator, Clearwater

Shari Britton– Chief, Bureau of Parole & Field Services & Interstate Compact, Tallahassee

Teri McCall – Circuit 12 Administrator, Sarasota

12:00 – 1:15 pm Lunch:Mark A. Engelhardt, MS, MSW, ACSW, The Associate Director of the Florida Criminal Justices, Mental Health & Substance Abuse Technical Assistance Center at the Florda Mental Health Institute at the University of South Florida, “Sequential Integrated Mapping: Cross-System Improvement”
1:15 – 1:30 pm Break
1:35 – 2:50 pm Plenary Panel 2: Managing Entities in a Smart Justice System hosted by the Florida Association of Managing Entities

MODERATOR: Rep. Greg Steube (R – Bradenton), Vice Chair of the Health Quality Subcommittee

Christine Cauffield. Psy.D. – Vice President, Lutheran Services Florida Health Systems, Jacksonville

John Dow, MSW – President & Chief Executive Officer, South Florida Behavioral Health Network, Miami

Linda McKinnon, LMHC – President & Chief Executive Officer, Central Florida Behavioral Health Network, Tampa

Mike Watkins – Chief Executive Officer, Big Bend Community Based Care, Tallahassee

3:00 – 3:45 pm Plenary Speaker: Vikrant Reddy, Esq., Senior Research Fellow, Charles Koch Institute,

National Trends in Criminal Justice Reform and How Florida Ranks

4:00 – 5:15 pm Plenary Panel 3State Attorney’s Smart Concepts in Criminal Justice hosted by the Florida Prosecuting Attorney’s Association

MODERATOR: Rep. Charles McBurney (R-Jacksonville), Chair – House Judiciary Committee

Hon. Dave Aronberg, State Attorney – 15th Circuit, Palm Beach Co.

Hon. Jeff Ashton, State Attorney – 9th Circuit, Orange & Osceola Co.

Hon. Ed Brodsky, State Attorney – 12th Circuit, Sarasota Co.

Hon. Angela Corey, State Attorney – 4th Circuit, Duval Co.

6:00 – 7:00 pm Opening Night Reception in Exhibition Space



7:30 – 8:30 am Continental Breakfast
8:00 – 8:50 am Research Professor Mahmoud ElSohly, University of Mississippi, Research institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences,

Marijuana, the Complex Botanical Product, Can it be a Prescription Drug?

8:50 – 10:05  am Plenary Panel 4: Smart Concepts in Law Enforcement hosted by the Florida Sheriffs Association

MODERATOR:  Rep. Dennis Baxley (R-Ocala), Chair – House Local & Federal Affairs

Pinellas Co. Sheriff Bob Gualtieri on Crisis Intervention Training (CIT) Program

Duval Co. Sheriff Mike Williams on CHOP:  Chronically Homeless Offender Program

Leon Co. Sheriff Greg Frost on Adult Civil Citation Program

10:10 – 10:25 am Break
10:30 – 11:45 am Plenary Panel 5: The Roadmap to System Excellence:  Strengthening the “Front Door” hosted by Florida’s Juvenile Justice System

MODERATOR: Rep. Ray Pilon (R-Sarasota), Member of House Criminal Justice Subcommittee

Dewey Carruthers – President of Dewey & Associates, St. Petersburg

Lt. Tim Enos – Sarasota Co. Sheriff’s Office & President of the Florida Association of School Resource Officers, Sarasota

Mark Greenwald – Director of Research & Data Integrity, Florida Department of Juvenile Justice, Tallahassee

Theda Roberts – Civil Citation Coordinator, Florida Department of Juvenile Justice, Tallahassee

12:00 – 1:15 pm Lunch: Plenary Speaker: Angola State Prison Warden Nathan Burl Cain, Louisiana State Penitentiary, Angola,  The Impact of Moral Rehabilitation in Prisons
1:15 – 1:30 pm Break
1:30 – 2:45 pm Plenary Panel 6: Smart Innovations in Risk Needs Assessments hosted by the Florida Association of Community Corrections

MODERATOR:  Rep. Heather Fitzenhagen (R-Fort Myers), Member of House Business & Professions Subcommittee

Linda A. Brooks, CPM, SLP – Manager, Orange County Corrections Department, Orlando

David McGriff, Ph.D. – Chief Executive Officer, Advocate Program, Miami

John McMahon – Director, Correctional Services Department of The Salvation Army, Tampa

2:50 – 3:35 pm Plenary Speaker:  Florida Offender Review Commission Chair Tena Pate
3:40 – 4:55 pm Plenary Panel 7: Smarter Coordination for Cross-over Youths hosted by the Florida Coalition for Children

MODERATOR: Rep. Gayle Harrell (R-Stuart), Chair – House Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee

Tim Niermann – Deputy Secretary, Florida Department of Juvenile Justice, Tallahassee

Hon. James Seals – Senior Judge, 20th Judicial Circuit, Ft. Myers

Janice Thomas – Assistant Secretary for Child Welfare, Florida Department of Children & Families, Tallahassee

Ted Waller, M.Ed. – Chief Executive Officer, HEADS USA, Plant City


6:00 – 7:30 pm Poolside Reception


7:30 – 8:30 am Continental Breakfast
8:00 – 8:45 am Plenary Speaker:  Sarasota County Sheriff Tom Knight – “Law Enforcement in a Smart Justice World”
8:55 – 10:05 am Plenary Panel 8Prevention & Treatment in a Smart Justice Environment

MODERATOR: Rep. Kathleen Peters (R-St. Petersburg), Vice Chair, House Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee

Cheryl Bello, MSS, CAP – Director of Operations Orange & Seminole Counties, Specialized Treatment, Education & Prevention Services, Inc., Orlando

James Clark, MSW – President & Chief Executive Officer, Daniel Memorial, Inc., Jacksonville

Philip Diaz, MSW – President, S.T.E.P. Prevention, Inc., Delray Beach

Laurie Reid, LMFT, CAP – President, Breaking the Cycle Consulting, Sanford

10:05 – 10:20 am Break
10:25 – 11:05 am FSJA Award Presentation
11:05 – 12:35 pm Plenary Panel 9Annual State Legislative Panel (in formation)

MODERATOR:  Barney Bishop III, FSJA President & CEO

Rep. Dennis Baxley (R-Ocala), Chair, Local & Federal Affairs Committee

Rep. John Cortes (D-Kissimmee), former Correctional Officer and Democratic Ranking Member on the Health Innovations Subcommittee

Rep. Dane Eagle (R-Cape Coral) on the House Government Operations Appropriations Subcommittee

Sen. Greg Evers (R-Pensacola), Chair, Senate Criminal Justice Committee

Rep. Heather Fitzenhagen (R-Fort Myers), Member of House Business & Professions Subcommittee

Rep. Joe Geller (D -Dania Beach),  Democratic Ranking Member, K-12 Subcommittee

Sen. Audrey Gibson (D – Jacksonville), Vice Chair – Senate Criminal Justice Committee

Rep. Julio Gonzalez (R-Venice),  member of Judiciary Committee

Rep. Gayle Harrell (R-Stuart), Chair,  Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee

Rep. Kristin Jacobs (D-Coconut Creek), Member of House Health Quality Subcommittee

Rep. Chris Latvala (R-Clearwater) on the House Criminal Justice Subcommittee

Rep. Charles McBurney (R-Jacksonville), Chair of the House Judiciary Committee

Rep. Kathleen Peters (R-St. Petersburg), Vice Chair, House Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee

Rep. Ray Pilon (R-Sarasota), Member of House Criminal Justice Subcommittee

Rep. Gwendolyn Clarke-Reed (D-Pompano Beach),  Member of House Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee

Rep. Darryl Rouson (D-St. Petersburg),  Democratic Ranking Member, Justice Appropriations Committee

Rep. Jimmie Smith (R-Inverness), Chair,  Veterans & Military Affairs Subcommittee

Rep. Cyndi Stevenson (R-Ponte Vedra Beach),  House Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee